Friday Fun #3

Hii everyone! Time for my weekly fun post where I share the things that have made me smile in the past few days. ๐Ÿ™‚

DAYLIGHT SAVINGS

blondiesandburpees_daylightsavings

I’m with ya, girl.

Itโ€™s finally time to Spring Forward this Sunday @ 2am. Or should I say 3 a.m.? Basically we’re all time traveling this weekend. Losing an hour is sure to throw me off but I am SO ready for it to be light out when I come home from work. Itโ€™s crazy how such a little thing makes a huge difference in my mood!

SNOWDAYS!!!

I know most people are sick of them at this point but yesterday was my first official snow day of 2015! WOOO! Iโ€™ve come in to work late a handful of times and left early once or twice because of snow but I missed all the crazy weather & snow cancellations while I was on my road trip. Therefore, I was very much happy to see this:

blondiesandburpees_snowdayIt felt great to sleep in ever so slightly. Even better, I could finally relax with coffee and the news during the time I would have been commuting! I resisted the urge to binge watch Netflix all day and was actually really productive between work and getting a few personal things done, even managing a long workout. Can I work from home every day?

WINTER CARDIO WORKOUT

This relates to the above snow day mention.. Did you know shoveling your driveway burns a decent amount of calories? I always knew it was a good arm workout but I never put together how being out of breath due to shoveling 6+ inches of snow off a large driveway would be cardio, as well. Here, my friends, is proof! (I’m laughing at myself because my only motivator to shovel the driveway was to get some exercise. Not to, you know, be able to make it to work today or anything…)

blondiesandburpees_snowday2 Fun Fact: Between my extra long workout yesterday and shoveling the driveway multiple times I burned close to 1,000 calories yesterdayโ€ฆ which definitely explains why I canโ€™t seem to stop eating today.

#MEATLESSMONDAY

blondiesandburpees_mmIn an attempt to incorporate new foods into my diet, Iโ€™ve decided to give Meatless Mondayโ€™s a go for the foreseeable future! Specifically, Iโ€™d like to get more plant based proteins into my diet. I’m excited to see beans, legumes, tofu, veggies, nuts and more start making the rounds into my meals. Plus, this means Iโ€™ll have to branch out of the norm and try new recipes! Oh She Glowโ€™s Cookbook has been calling my name.

Rock Recovery Panel Discussion

If you read my post from earlier this week, youโ€™ll know I had the chance to discuss Disordered Eating 101 with Rock Recovery, a local non-profit dedicated to providing accessible and affordable recovery programs for those suffering from eating disorders. Another goal of theirs is to educate the public through community outreach programs.

blondiesandburpees_rockrecoverypanelist

On April 30, Rock Recovery is hosting โ€œBuilding Bridges: Living an Integrated Lifeโ€ at 5:30 p.m. at The Willard in Washington, D.C. The panel discussion will examine ways to achieve balance within both our personal and professional lives.

If you ever feel completely overwhelmed with all of the responsibilities and pressures between work, home, school, maintaining an active & healthy lifestyle then I highly recommend you be a part of the conversation. I know I experience some anxiety at times when thinking of all of the items on my [never ending] โ€˜to-doโ€™ list, so Iโ€™m excited to learn stress-relieving tips. Life is all about balance & moderation, after all!

More information on the event, panelists and tickets to the event can be found here.

THIS!

blondiesandburpees_quoteThis is one of my favorite quotes lately. Waking up really early to work out is hard. Itโ€™s so easy to hit the snooze button and fall back into your warm, cozy bedโ€”ESPECIALLY since itโ€™s so damn cold out. This puts a positive spin on things. It gives me the motivation and actually makes me excited to begin the day before the crack of dawn. I need this in a frame! Or a mug!

Question: What’s making you happy today?

Hope you all have an awesome weekend.

XO,
Julia

One thought on “Friday Fun #3

Leave a Reply

