MEAN GREEN PUMPKIN MACHINES

Good morning! I am absolutely spent but in the best of moods after another killer workout at Zengo Cycle! I’m loving my 12-hours of “cardio-torture”, as I’ve dubbed it, involving my Tuesday evening speed development workout followed by Wednesday morning spin! My legs are getting stronger every day and I’m noticing my endurance is improving. (The arm circuit song during spin is also doing wonders for my shoulders!) #win

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day around the corner, I wanted to share a yummy & festive muffin recipe I’ve been having for breakfast this week. You wouldn’t guess it by their color, but they’re packed with spinach. I’m calling them my Mean Green Pumpkin Machine’s. Long title but whatevs. They are so soft & so D E L I C I O U S !

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin

Since drastically changing my diet in the last year, I’m constantly looking for creative ways to incorporate greens into my meals. And since you can’t eat salads for every meal, I’ve been letting my imagination wander in the kitchen. These babies are my latest success.

I guess you could eat a salad for every meal, but I prefer a liiittle variety in my food and does this not look amazing!?:

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin8

PB is ALWAYS recommended!

I mentioned this a few weeks back, but muffins are my fave for breakfast because they require absolutely no effort. Just groggily stumble downstairs, pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds, *maybe* pair them with some Greek yogurt and/or fruit and you’re ready to go. If you’re in a serious relationship with the snooze button (like I am lately) they are a godsend!

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin3INGREDIENTS
1 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/4 cup honey
1/3 cup egg whites
1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
1 cup spinach
3 pitted dates (soaked for 5 minutes)
1 cup old fashioned oats
¾ oat flour
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp baking soda
2 scoops protein powder (optional)
½ tsp sea salt (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray muffin tin or line with cupcake liners.

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin4 In a blender or food processor, blend first 6 (wet) ingredients until well incorporated. If the mixture becomes too sticky, scrape down sides & repeat until the spinach is fully liquefied.

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin2Add remainder of (dry) ingredients in a large bowl.

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin5Slowly fold wet mixture into dry mixture until everything is well combined. Feel free to add raisins, craisins, nuts, etc. to the batter here!

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin6Pour mixture into muffin tins. Bake for 18-20 minutes. It’s fine if a toothpick doesn’t come out perfectly clean—since you’re working with oatmeal, the muffins will be a little more soft & velvety than baking with other flours.

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin7

I’m five. I know.

If you’re weird about greens in anything, I PROMISE you cannot taste them what so ever. I imagine this is a perfect recipe trick if you have a picky eater on your hands 😉

blondiesandburpees_greenmuffin9

Hope you enjoy them as much as I do!!

XO,
Julia

Leave a Reply

