Appleberry Smoothie & Track Workout

Good morning! How is everyone’s week going? I feel like I’ve been running around like a chicken with its head cut off, personally. Between work, school, writing, half training, getting in a liiittle fun time with friends and SOMEHOW squeezing in a little bit of sleep, I feel like I haven’t had a moment to myself to just veg out. I am SO ready for a vacation.

Good timing then that I’ll be heading out on a Southern road trip this Friday(!!!) Beth and I will be making a pitstop in Morgantown, WV before heading to –> Louisville, KY –> Nashville, TN –> New Orleans, LA –> Atlanta, GA and then home. While I’m sure resting is the last thing we’ll be doing, I’m really excited to get out of town, see new places & step outside of my MoCo comfort zone.

blondiesandburpees_magic

ANYWHO, back to the point of this post! Before I head off to my new favorite spin class this morning @ Zengo—OK I’ll count this is my “me” time—I wanted to share another workout/recipe combo. Seems to be my Wednesday calling now?

This APPLEBERRY SMOOTHIE has been a lifesaver recently. I like to have a smoothie mid-morning to hold me over until lunch. It’s the perfect little pick me up and the easiest way to incorporate some greens into your diet without even tasting them.

IMG_1013

Ingredients:
½ frozen banana (sliced)
¼ cup sliced strawberries
¼ cup blackberries
¼ cup blueberries
1/3 cup unsweetened apple juice
2/3 cup water
1 cup spinach

Place everything in your blender & mix until well incorporated. If I’m feeling really groovy I’ll add chia seeds for texture. – E N J O Y !!

IMG_0877

TRACK WORKOUT:

Last night we had our weekly speed development workout at a local high school. As cold as it can be at night, everyone shows up with a smile, ready to go. I love the enthusiasm of this group and I’m instantly in a fantastic mood once I arrive.

All workouts begin with a brief meeting in the school cafeteria where the program director tells us the evening workout. Afterwards, we break up into our pace groups and get the party started. The speed workouts change from week-to-week but last night’s workout was pretty intense! We are at the point in training where we’re dialing it up a notch. 🙂

Workout:
6 x 800 I
4 x 200 R
400/100 recovery

If that is a foreign language to you, no worries. It still makes my head spin trying to decipher what it means. I kind of just do what I’m told and occasionally it starts to make sense to me (but not really.)

For starters, I = Interval pace and R = Race pace. The paces are based on our estimated 10K times, so I am in the 8:45 group. All the above really means, is you run twice around the track (800m) six times at your interval pace with one lap (400m) of recovery in between. My 800 interval pace goal was 4:05. Recovery laps we did at our own discretion.

Then, as if you’re not already exhausted, you run 200m (half of the track) at your race pace with a 200m recovery. Our race pace goal was 0:57 but our group has a ‘lets-race-eachother-problem’ SO it was probably a little faster than that. Oops!

Oh, and don’t forget about your mile warm-up and mile cool-down! FUN RIGHT?!

IMG_1011

If ya do the math, that adds up to over 7 miles!! This is a TOUGH workout and my quads this morning… They hate me.

So it only makes sense to torture myself with an intense spin class, right? Have a good one!

XO,
Julia

Leave a Reply

