Greek Yogurt Poppy Seed Dressing & Treadmill HIIT

Good Morning!

Today I’m coming at you with TWO things that I’m very excited to share. One is an impromptu dressing I threw together on a whim and two is my favorite interval workout as of late that makes my time on the treadmill dreadmill a little more interesting.

After a busy weekend with no-time to meal prep on Sunday, I had to make sure this week’s lunch was easy, quick & delicious. My go-to is usually a salad because they’re so simple to put together and the topping combinations are endless. HOLLA!

Ordinarily, I go for a 50/50 blend or baby spinach with fun toppings, but a friend recently opened my eyes to some incredible sweet kale mixes that I’ve been loving!

IMG_0858Blondies&burpees_sweetkale

The Eat Smart brand has a pretty tasty Poppy-seed dressing; although knowing how many additives are in them, I try to steer clear. Keyword: try. If I’m being honest, that doesn’t ALWAYS stop me, but I at least try be aware of what’s in them—read your labels!

That being said, I’ve been dabbling more with creating my own dressings. I had great success with a Honey-Dijon Vinaigrette from the Skinnytaste Cookbook, so as I was eating lunch on Monday, I got the brilliant idea: I can make this!

When I got home, I quickly started on my little project and was very happy with the outcome. So easy and SO delicious! It’s creamy, sweet & delightful. The best part? Only FIVE ingredients! Four of which you probably already have at home. (Unless you also happen to carry Poppy-seeds in your spice cabinet. Which I did not. Sidenote: Did you know grocery stores keep them with the spices?? I did not.)

IMG_0828

Ingredients:
1/4 cup plain, non-fat greek yogurt
¼ tsp white vinegar
1 tbsp honey
1 tsp poppy seeds
1 tsp water (to thin)

Notes:
1. Feel free to add more water if you like a runnier dressing; the Greek yogurt is thick!
2. This will probably make 3-4 servings, depending on how much dressing you prefer. I made a small batch since I’ll be the only one using it this week! You can double or triple it, but add the water in little by little for desired consistency.

IMG_0863

Directions:
Pour everything in a bowl & whisk. Once blended, drizzle generously over your delish salad & VOILA. That was ridiculously easy.

IMG_0872

I imagine this would be incredible on a strawberry, spiced pecan & turkey bacon crumble salad. Or with pear, pomegranate & avocado. OR a fruit salad in general. JUST SAYING.. But for real, let me know if you try it!

IMG_0883

IMG_0889

WORK-IT-OUT

Before I head off to work I wanted to share a treadmill interval run I’ve done a few times to help the minutes go by faster. If you’re anything like me, then you’d rather suffer in rain/sleet/snow/extreme heat before succumbing to the elements & running inside. It’s a scientific fact that a treadmill minute is, in fact, longer than a regular minute. 😉 Google it.

But, life Winter Storm Juno happens and occasionally you’ve got to give the hamster wheel a spin. (All jokes aside, if you love running on the treadmill that’s AWESOME and I applaud you. Seriously. It’s just not for me!)

I love this workout because it keeps things interesting by switching it up & you will sweat your butt off!! PLUS, HIIT workouts are the best for burning fat. Have I sold you yet?! Without further ado:

35-Minute HIIT (1)

Pair this with your favorite playlist and GO! Hope you like!

XO,
Julia

One thought on “Greek Yogurt Poppy Seed Dressing & Treadmill HIIT

Leave a Reply

