Have your cake & eat it too

January 27th is National Chocolate Cake Day—and what better day is there to share my first recipe? Confession: it’s not a cake… but it sure tastes like it. Allow me to introduce Double Chocolate Protein Muffins into your life.

Blondies&Burpees_DblChocMuffins(2)

Get in ma belly!

I recently baked these as a grab-n-go breakfast for mornings when I can’t seem pull myself out of bed and then find myself rushing out the door. They’re filling, contain only natural sugars and (if you’re anything like me) will definitely satisfy your sweet tooth.

Yup. You heard right. The only thing better than chocolate muffins are chocolate muffins FOR BREAKFAST.

I am not exaggerating when I say these are the most delicious baked goods I’ve ever made. (That includes store-bought.) I loathe this word.. but they are SO moist for having protein in them!!

Blondies&Burpees_DblChocMuffins(3)

Seee! Gooey & delicious.

I adapted this recipe from a Tone It Up recipe based on ingredients I had on hand. An experiment I’m quite proud of. 🙂


INGREDIENTS:

-1 cup oat flour
-1/2 cup cacao powder
-1 tsp baking powder
-1 tsp salt
-1 or 2 scoops of chocolate protein powder*
-1/3 cup walnuts (or nut of choice)
-1/3 cup cacao nibs (or chocolate chips)
-2 mashed bananas
-1/4 cup maple syrup (or honey)
-1 cup unsweetened almond milk
-1/4 cup melted coconut butter
-2 flax eggs (6 tbsp water + 2 tbsp ground flaxseed)**
-2 tsp baking powder & 2 tsp lemon juice

*Protein is totally optional. I used Perfect Fit Protein. Whey protein is also great for cooking, though is hard for some to digest. If you omit, add 3 tbsp cacao powder.
**If you don’t have flaxseed at home, substitute 1 egg or ¼ cup egg whites. If so, add ¼ tsp baking powder to dry mix.

DIRECTIONS:
Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Either line a muffin tin with liners or spray it with coconut oil. Create your flax eggs in a small bowl & let sit for a few minutes. In a separate bowl, combine baking powder/lemon juice mixture & let sit. Combine oat flour, cacao powder, baking powder, salt and protein in a large bowl.

Mash 2 bananas in medium bowl. Next, add the rest of your wet ingredients (maple syrup, almond milk, coconut butter, flax eggs & baking powder/lemon juice mixture.)

Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients, mix until well blended. Fold in nuts & cacao nibs. Pour mixture into the muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes or until a knife comes out clean (No more than 25 min!) Recipe yields around 12 muffins.

TIPS/THOUGHTS:
Make your own flour if you can! You’ll save a TON of money. I have a nutribullet which comes with a milling blade. For oat flour, blend 1 cup of old fashioned rolled oats until it turns into a powder-like consistency and voila! (This may work with other blenders, but I haven’t tried. Try making it in larger batches.)

I also would love to try this recipe with quinoa flour for extra staying power, though I’m not sure if it would have the same consistency. I’ll keep ya posted.

Blondies&Burpees_DblChocMuffins

Breakfast of Champions

Let me know if you make it!

XO,
Julia

3 thoughts on “Have your cake & eat it too

Leave a Reply

